Sharing files and folders

1. How do I email an item in NeatCloud to other people?

Emailing an item is a fast and easy way to share a single file. From NeatCloud, click on the item you want to email and then choose Email Selected Item from the Actions menu. This will create an email with an attached PDF version of the item you’ve selected. From there, just fill in the email addresses of whomever you’d like to send it to, click Email item, and off it goes! Back to Top

2. When I email a single item to someone, what will they receive?

When you email a single item from NeatCloud, the recipient receives an email with an attached PDF version of the item you’ve selected. Back to Top

3. How do I share a Neat folder with others?

When you share a NeatCloud folder, the recipients will receive an email notifying them of the share and asking them to create a free NeatCloud account. With a free account, users will be able to view all contents in the shared folder in the exact same way you see them. They will also be able to comment on any items within the folder, making collaboration easy. People with whom you have shared a folder cannot add content to your shared folders, nor can they edit or delete content within your folder, aside from adding comments. They also cannot share your folders with other users.

In the NeatCloud Navigation Pane, select the folder you want to share and then choose Share Folder from the Actions menu.

Provide an email address and then click Share Folder.

In the Navigation Pane, the shared folder displays the shared folder icon.

When two or more Neat users are sharing a folder, each can write comments on any shared item. The same is true for account holders who are part of the same account, and any items within that account. These comments can create a back-and-forth conversation, which will be shown as a comment thread for that item. This conversation will be synced to the cloud as well.

When a user enters a comment, the other user or users will receive an email notifying them that a comment has been added and providing a link to view that comment. Back to Top

4. Can I share Neat folders with non-Neat users?

Yes. When you share a NeatCloud folder, the recipients will receive an email notifying them of the share and asking them to create a free NeatCloud account. With a free account, users will be able to view all contents in the shared folder in the exact same way you see them. They will also be able to comment on any item within the folder, making collaboration easy. Back to Top

5. When I share a folder with someone, what can they see?

The person you shared a folder with will be able to view all contents in the shared folder in the exact same way you see them. However, they will not be able to view contents in any folders you have not shared with them. They also cannot share your folders with other users. Back to Top

6. When I share a folder with someone, what can they do?

The person you shared the folder with is able to view all content in the shared folder, including items and sub folders. They are also able to comment on any item within the shared folder. This makes collaboration easy, as these comments will be shown as a comment thread for that item. Lastly, they are able to download items from the shared folder to their own computers. However, they cannot add, edit, or delete content within your folder. Back to Top

7. How do I know which of my folders are shared?

In the Navigation Pane, the folders that are shared display a shared icon so that you can visually differentiate between shared and unshared folders. When folders are shared with you, they will appear under the other person’s name in your cabinet. Back to Top

8. How do I exchange comments with others on items in a shared folder?

Open any item in a shared folder and type a comment into the comment box. When you’re ready, click Add+. The comment will be shared with all users who are part of the shared folder, and each user can write comments on any shared item. This can create a back-and-forth conversation, which will be shown as a comment thread for that item.

When a user enters a comment, the other user or users will receive an email notifying them that a comment has been added and providing a link to view that comment. Back to Top

9. How do I un-share a folder?

Simply move the contents of the shared folder into a new folder and then the person you shared the old folder with will no longer have access to those files. Back to Top

10. How many people can I share my folder with?

There is no limit to the number of people you can share a folder with. Back to Top

THE NEAT DIGITAL FILING SYSTEM

Cloud + Mobile + Desktop
One ecosystem for all your important information – on your desktop, in the cloud, and with mobile.

Neat transforms your digital and paper documents into useful, organized information. Our integrated system of software, hardware, cloud service, and mobile app makes it easy to acquire, search, share, and access your most important information - anywhere, anytime.

Organize your information, simplify your life.